Mass media

I’ve been playing around with pencils these past few days.  I still come back to it somehow.  One would think that after a year of drawing and painting, I would have discovered what my preferred medium is already.  I’ve already tried pencil, ink, watercolor and gouache.  I thought for a while that I liked watercolor the most, but I still feel like something’s missing. Technique? A signature palette?  I’m not sure.

Going back to pencil felt so comforting.  It’s like it’s telling me that it’s ok to doodle aimlessly, to overshade, to make wrong strokes. It’s like an old friend who’ll always go easy on me no matter what I do.  Maybe I’ll stick with it for a while.

This is a pencil drawing of my daughter sporting her new haircut.  I’ve actually used color pencils on this but I prefer the greyscale version.

Author: seordonez

Amateur illustrator. In Tagalog, Feeling Illustrator.

Leave a Reply

