Back to you

Is it back to watercolors for me after I resolved to stick to pencil drawings?  That lasted a day.  I am so inconsistent.  I did a couple of pencil sketches and I just couldn’t help but to paint over them.  I like that some of the pencil shadings show through the paint.  And I really like how the colors turn out in this paper.  This is my Moleskine sketchbook which has a nice off-white paper.  It’s vey absorbent though and cannot take washes and repetitive brush strokes.  On watercolor paper, I apply a small amount of paint and then just push it around with my brush.  That approach does not work on this Moleskine paper at all.  I need to check if there is a watercolor paper out there with this shade of white.

Anyway, I will try to fill up the rest of the pages with pencil and watercolor paintings and see how it goes.  Maybe it will help me minimize my brush strokes.  I do tend to overpaint and obssess over the details.

This is my daughter in her Lunar New Year party dress.  I wonder until what age would she allow me to put a flower in her hair.

Author: seordonez

Amateur illustrator. In Tagalog, Feeling Illustrator.

Leave a Reply

