Do You Know Where You’re Going To?

I haven’t sketched anything in a while.  I’ve been thinking about a lot of things, from politics to art to social justice to gardening and what to cook tonight.  Well, mostly politics.  I’ve been refreshing newsfeeds and devouring articles and commentaries from my preferred bloggers  every chance I get.  I’ve always been interested in history, politics and sociology since high school.  Maybe even earlier than that.  In college, I was more excited about Humanities and Sociology courses (part of the general engineering curriculum for the first 2 years) than Basic Electronics I or Differential Calculus.  I loved reading about philosophy, psychology and art history.  I regret sometimes that I did not follow my heart.  Or maybe, at that time, I did not even know my own heart.  I mean, how can I possibly decide what I wanted to do for the rest of my life at 16.  Well, I know others who did, and they should consider themselves very lucky.

Nowadays, my home country is experiencing an awakening.  Politics and socially relevant issues have been brought to the forefront of national discourse, trumping showbusiness and basketball, and I can’t help but feel a little proud.  And hopeful.  What I would give to see my country experience real progress at the end of this journey.

Speaking of journeys,  I am taking a new one in a few weeks.  Metaphorically, I mean.  I am about to go back to the world of corporate employees.  For more than a year, I have greatly enjoyed going against the crowd during  the morning rush hour.  Finding myself alone and facing a crowd of people wearing office ensembles across the pedestrian lane, was so, so liberating.  At the train station, being the only person riding the up-elevator while looking at the down-elevator bursting with people, was oddly calming.  I hope I get to do that again in the near future.  Realities have finally caught up with me, and it’s time to face them.

This is my illustration of the road I take on my daily commute to drop and pick up my daughter to and from her school, viewed from the upperdeck of a bus.  I will miss the times when I get to ride half-empty buses and trains.

Author: seordonez

Amateur illustrator. In Tagalog, Feeling Illustrator.

Leave a Reply

